KLD Draft

DRAFT ONE  – This was kind of a trainwreck, but I managed to straighten myself out just in time, and stuck a 2-1 record.
Pack 1 pick 1:

My Pick:

Pack 1 pick 2:

My Pick:

Pack 1 pick 3:
I was dumb to commit to a much weaker white card at this point. Should have taken Ovalchase Daredevil and been open to either UB or WB splashing Cloudblazer.

My Pick:

Pack 1 pick 4:

My Pick:

Pack 1 pick 5:

My Pick:

Pack 1 pick 6:
If I had made the black pick earlier, i might have chosen live fast here. Tezz ambition is fine, but they go SUPER late, and I never want more than one. Sometimes you have a problem getting finishers in these decks, and automaton would go in any slow build.

My Pick:

Pack 1 pick 7:

I think the bat and hawk are both better in WB, but I’m leaning towards being defensive and needing cards that enable artifact synergies rather than benefit from them.

My Pick:

Pack 1 pick 8:
This card is fine if you get 2+, but not great. Again, should have moved into black by now, as Operative is legit.

My Pick:

Pack 1 pick 9:
Synergy with both my first pick and with the Switcheroo – Shrewd Negotiation.

My Pick:

Pack 1 pick 10:
Again, could have been paid off for being in black.

My Pick:

Pack 1 pick 11:

My Pick:

Pack 1 pick 12:

My Pick:

Pack 1 pick 13:

My Pick:

Pack 1 pick 14:

My Pick:

Pack 1 pick 15:

My Pick:

Pack 2 pick 1:
Alright, NOW i get the memo.

My Pick:

Pack 2 pick 2:
My mana is now officially a mess, so I’m trying to fix it.

My Pick:

Pack 2 pick 3:
This card is an amazing finisher. It ends the game so quickly, and I’ve cast it for as little as UU.

My Pick:

Pack 2 pick 4:

This should have been another pillar-bug. I was too focused on my servo enabler.

My Pick:

Pack 2 pick 5:

My Pick:

Pack 2 pick 6:

My Pick:

Pack 2 pick 7:

My Pick:

Pack 2 pick 8:

My Pick:

Pack 2 pick 9:

My Pick:

Pack 2 pick 10:
I’m now looking to be UB splashing white

My Pick:

Pack 2 pick 11:

My Pick:

Pack 2 pick 12:

My Pick:

Pack 2 pick 13:

My Pick:

Pack 2 pick 14:

My Pick:

Pack 2 pick 15:

My Pick:

Pack 3 pick 1:

My Pick:

Pack 3 pick 2:

Just so much better than everything else, this is a total hedge in case my mana fixing improves.

My Pick:

Pack 3 pick 3:
Payoff.

My Pick:

Pack 3 pick 4:
Had I been really heavily in UB earlier, i could have splashed this disintegration and the blazer.

My Pick:

Pack 3 pick 5:

My Pick:

Pack 3 pick 6:

My Pick:
I have a bunch of mid-game energy generation. I didn’t realize I could also untap creatures with this, which let me untap a malfunctioned creature to attack for the win.

Pack 3 pick 7:

My Pick:

Pack 3 pick 8:
My random puzzleknots are looking much better.

My Pick:

Pack 3 pick 9:

My Pick:

Pack 3 pick 10:

My Pick:

Pack 3 pick 11:

My Pick:

Pack 3 pick 12:

My Pick:

Pack 3 pick 13:

My Pick:

Pack 3 pick 14:

My Pick:

Pack 3 pick 15:

My Pick:


DRAFT TWO – Ended up 3-0 pretty handily

Pack 1 pick 1:
Three cards excite me. Pummeler, Veteran Motorist, and Animation Module, all of which are build-arounds, but module is the most flexible, and is totally busted if you have all the energy creatures.

My Pick:

Pack 1 pick 2:
Could have grabbed sage and stayed on theme, but Warden is so much better. Sad, because white has basically no good energy generation.

My Pick:

Pack 1 pick 3:
Warden was a good tempo play, and I wanted to try going beatdown, especially if that 3/1 from the first pack wheels, which it sometimes does.

My Pick:

Pack 1 pick 4:

My Pick:

Pack 1 pick 5:
These guys go pretty late, and I don’t want too many 4-drops, but they enable artifact synergies and give me reach.

My Pick:

Pack 1 pick 6:

My Pick:

Pack 1 pick 7:
Just in case I end up RG or something

My Pick:

Pack 1 pick 8:
Artifact synergy and reach

My Pick:

Pack 1 pick 9:
I don’t love the 1/3, but i should have taken it as a SB option

My Pick:

Pack 1 pick 10:

My Pick:

Pack 1 pick 11:
This card is actually decent, especially with my 1-drop

My Pick:

Pack 1 pick 12:

My Pick:

Pack 1 pick 13:

My Pick:

Pack 1 pick 14:

My Pick:

Pack 1 pick 15:

My Pick:

Pack 2 pick 1:
Very aggressive. Probably my nonrare 4-drop of choice for this deck.

My Pick:

Pack 2 pick 2:

My Pick:

Pack 2 pick 3:

My Pick:

Pack 2 pick 4:
Considered goggles. Either was probably fine here.

My Pick:

Pack 2 pick 5:
Cheap tricks are great, and i don’t think I’m very good at going wide. This is insane with the menace lizard.

My Pick:

Pack 2 pick 6:
Built to smash would also have been fine, but my creature count is low.

My Pick:

Pack 2 pick 7:

My Pick:

Pack 2 pick 8:

My Pick:

Pack 2 pick 9:

My Pick:

Pack 2 pick 10:

My Pick:

Pack 2 pick 11:
In case I need to go long.

My Pick:

Pack 2 pick 12:

My Pick:

Pack 2 pick 13:

My Pick:

Pack 2 pick 14:

My Pick:

Pack 2 pick 15:

My Pick:

Pack 3 pick 1:

My Pick:

Pack 3 pick 2:
This card is exceptional in these decks. It’s often a lava axe in the late game that pitches your leftover lands and draws you real cards. I ended up building my deck so i’d never have to play more than four lands, and could sandbag the rest to chuck at their face or best threat.

My Pick:

Pack 3 pick 3:

My Pick:

Pack 3 pick 4:

My Pick:

Pack 3 pick 5:

My Pick:

Pack 3 pick 6:

My Pick:

Pack 3 pick 7:

My Pick:

Pack 3 pick 8:

My Pick:

Pack 3 pick 9:

My Pick:

Pack 3 pick 10:

My Pick:

Pack 3 pick 11:

My Pick:

Pack 3 pick 12:

My Pick:

Pack 3 pick 13:

My Pick:

Pack 3 pick 14:

My Pick:

Pack 3 pick 15:

My Pick:

This draft converter created by Benjamin Peebles-Mundy.

Visit the draft converter today!

Leave a Reply

